

## SYDNEY HOCKEY ASSOCIATION

(INC)

## Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held

### Monday 9<sup>th</sup> November 2015

Eva Redfern Room (Sydney Olympic Hockey Centre)

Meeting Opened by Chairman at 7.20 pm and welcomed all attendees.

- 1. ATTENDANCE: Graeme Barnard (Bankstown), Emma Ratcliff (Briars), Same Moore (Easts), Danny O'Brian (Glebe), Iain Watt (Macquarie Uni), Mike Thompson (Manly), Laurie Steet (Monterey), John Walzak (Moorebank), David Collier (Norwest Strikers), Peter Hayes (St George/Randwick), Craig Turner (Sutherland), Anthony Mcinnes(Sydney Uni), Corinne Rochester (UNSW), Cameron Ward (UTS), Greg Findley (Ryde).
  - **Board:** John Scott, Peter Busch, Paul Economides, Rohan McCoy, Pat McCabe, Ken Campbell

**Executive Officer:** Ann Noblett

Clubs and Life Members: B. Taylor, K. Flack, M. Dawson,

Visitors:Chris Noblett, Jim O'HearnApologies:Bruce Cook

Absent Clubs: Bentstix, Gordon

2. UNFINANCIAL CLUBS – All Clubs Financial

# 3. CONFIRMATION OF 64rd AGM MINUTES – Monday 9th November 2015

**Motion:** "That the formal minutes of the 64rd Annual General Meeting 9th November 2015 be accepted as a true record"

Moved: M.Dawson Seconded: K.Flack Carried

#### 4. BUSINESS ARISING – Nil

#### 5. 2016 ANNUAL REPORT

**Presidents Report** – Presented by John Scott as appears in Annual Report. John Scott also thanked all those on the various committee for all

their hard work throughout the season in running the competition. On behalf of SHA John Scott also extended his condolences to the families of both Peter Goodridge and Tom McDermott.

Congratulation to Ryde Hunter Hill for the Grand Final Win.

**Finance Report** – Rohan McCoy presented the Finance Report which was detailed in the Annual Report.

Rohan requested any questions from the floor – none were received

Motion: "That the 2015 Annual Report (which includes the full Financial Accounts and Audit Report) be accepted and that the President and Director Finance sign the 2015 Financial Statement on behalf of the Board"

Moved : Kevin Flack Seconded : Graeme Barnard Carried

#### 6. ELECTION OF BOARD OF MANAGEMENT OFFICERS (4)

Formal nominations were received in writing prior to the closing date and it was moved that a secret ballot be held for position on the SHA Board.

#### Positon to be voted in:

President	2 Years
Finance Director	2 Year Term
Director 1	2 Year Term
Director 2	2 Year Term

#### All votes in and the following elected for these positions

President	John Scott
Finance Director	Rohan McCoy
Director 1	Ken Campbell
Director 2	Bruce Cook

Motion: "That all voting / ballot papers be destroyed following elections"Moved: Graeme BarnardSeconded: Emma RadcliffCarried

#### 7. ELECTION OF LIFE MEMBER

Nomination for Alan Wiggins - Services to Indoor Hockey. Nominated by UTS Hockey Club.

#### - Approved

Nomination for David Gilbert – Services to Hockey

Nominated by Moorebank Hockey Club and endorsed by Pat McCabe.

- Apprived

#### 8. NOTICES OF MOTION:

Motion to be moved to make a number of changes to the Constitution in line with changes to SHA no longer being affiliated with HNSW.

Motion for all changes to done and sent out to clubs.

Moved by Paul Economides 2<sup>nd</sup> by Corinne Rochester

Voting 20 for 2 against Passed.

#### 9. General Business

#### **SHA** Competition

All clubs asked to submit their team number by 13th November

Competition changes and new structure presented by Peter Busch Aim to even out teams submitted by clubs and ranking them appropriately.

Develop more and better umpires

With the new competition structure the aim is to help clubs transition their juniors into the mens comp.

#### **Competition Rules**

- **1.** How to identify an un-financial player
- 2. Players playing down grades
- 3. How to identify suspended players from other association competitions
- 4. Match Cards
- 5. Finals qualification
- 6. Match card updates to Web
- 7. Qualification of officiating staff.

10. Proposal from Hockey Zone to film and show SHA games All clubs agree for further investigation on costs

Meeting Closed - 8.50pm

President

John Scott